Blog 1: Beyonce’s Fierce Feminism

As I read the article, “Beyonce’s Fierce Feminism,” I kept thinking to myself about something I had heard recently about Beyonce. That her new album, Lemonade, which created the perception that Jay Z had cheated on Beyonce with “Becky with the good hair,” was all a hoax to make money. That Jay Z had not actually cheated on Beyonce. So while I read the article, every time it would say anything about critics jumping on Beyonce’s “sexuality” as a feminist, I just thought: $$$.

Obviously, as a performer, Beyonce is going to take on a different persona of who she is in real life. I think most people take on a different persona at work, it’s just that her work is in the public eye and happens to entertain people through music and dance. If she were to stop doing those things (which let’s be honest, I’m sure she enjoys because it’s fun to feel sexy), I think that gives into the notion that men are “in charge” more than the idea that Beyonce gives feminism a bad name or isn’t a real one. Why should she give up what she loves doing because it’s too provocative?

She also came out publicly several times to say she considers herself to be a feminist, so why continue ripping on what type of feminist she is? Feminism can sometimes be so fluid that it can be difficult to even grasp a basic concept, so I’m at a loss for why she is getting jumped on for everything she does in relation to it. All she is saying is that sexuality should be part of feminism and should not be only for males seeking pleasure.

As far as the racial element goes, I don’t buy into it. I don’t think Lady Gaga or Madonna are viewed as feminists anymore than Beyonce is. They’re all criticized for being too sexual with regard to performance. Anyone who sees sexuality as part of the culture of anti-feminism is going to see these performances as they wish to see them, and not think about the underlying goals of the performers. I don’t think race has to do with it.

I believe that many people overlook her strong desire to come across as a feminist who doesn’t man-hate. I liked the part about the “The Mrs. Carter Show World Tour” because I know it must piss people off she named her tour that, but since feminism isn’t about man-bashing, then why do people care? The tour was a celebration of her and her husband’s musical talents, and she is not weaker for having a husband. She clearly wants to take pride in her name, and as the article mentioned, it’s for her public persona and she actually goes by Knowles-Carter in real life, as does Jay Z.

Overall, I found it interesting that so many people are angry with Beyonce’s type of feminism, but I think those people might find her more interesting if they actually look at the undertones within her public persona.

Published by

Susie

JMU student majoring in Communications with a concentration in Advocacy and minoring in Political Communications. Currently enrolled in SCOM 420, Feminist Rhetorics, with Dr. Lori De Hertogh.

Leave a Reply

